Halsgrove Newsletter
Halsgrove Publishing
.Search Titles
Halsgrove Logo
  about uslocationvacanciestrade logincatalogue

Shopping cart  Shopping cart
0 Title(s) in cart
Total £0.00
» Checkout

Latest Title(s) Viewed:

Community Histories

PiXZ Books

Railway Series

Halsgrove Publishing
Halsgrove House
Ryelands Business Park
Bagley Road, Wellington
Somerset TA21 9PZ UK
Tel: 44 (0) 1823 653 777
Fax: 44 (0) 1823 216 796

Trade Login  Trade Login

Not logged in

» Login
ISBN: 9780857043511
AUTHOR: Andrew Hignell
Glamorgan Cricketers 1921-1948
Glamorgan Cricketers 1921-1948
  • Description
  • Related

The second in the series of books celebrating the achievements of Glamorgan’s players covers the period from their inaugural first-class match in 1921 to the summer of 1948 when they won the County Championship title for the first-ever time.

It contains profiles of some of the legendary names in the history of Welsh cricket, including Maurice Turnbull, Johnnie Clay and Wilf Wooller, as well as yeoman professionals who gave loyal service to Glamorgan.

It includes some who went on to win honours in Test cricket, as well as those who appeared in wartime friendlies, plus other lesser lights in the Club’s history and one-match wonders, who included a fifteen-year-old schoolboy who appeared in the final match of 1922.

Many of the 170 people included in this book went on to fame and fortune in other areas of life, becoming diplomats, politicians, BBC producers, schoolmasters, lawyers, businessmen, journalists or sportsmen in other fields, including football, rugby and golf.

Some won military honours during the First or Second World War, whilst others appeared in the Olympics, including one former Glamorgan player who as a badminton coach witnessed the atrocities at the 1972 Munich Games.

Andrew Hignell is the 1st XI Scorer and Archivist to Glamorgan County Cricket Club which is Wales’ sole representative in county cricket. He read Geography at Exeter University, before undertaking a Ph.D in the subject at Cardiff University and subsequently taught at schools in Devon, Somerset and South Wales, besides working for BBC Radio Wales on their coverage of Glamorgan cricket.

In 2004 Andrew took up his full-time post with Glamorgan and oversaw the creation of the CC4 Museum of Welsh Cricket at the Club’s headquarters in Cardiff. In 2014 the Museum won the Kieran Hegarty Memorial Prize for Innovation at the Celtic Media Festival, whilst in 2018 it became the first fully-accredited cricket museum in the UK. Andrew is the author of over 30 books on cricket and is acknowledged as the leading authority on the history of cricket in Wales.

Imprint: Halsgrove. ISBN 978 0 85704 351 1, hardback, 210x148mm, 400 pages. Published October 2020.

Glamorgan Cricketers 1889-1920Glamorgan Cricketers 1889-1920 - £16.99
This lavishly illustrated book by Andrew Hignell features the 240 men who played for the Welsh county between the Club’s formation in 1888 and their elevation into the County Championship in 1921.
Somerset Cricketers 1971 - 2000Somerset Cricketers 1971 - 2000 - £16.99
This is the fourth volume in the award-winning series outlining the life of each man who has played first-class cricket for Somerset.Stephen Hill continues the series aided here by Julian Wyatt.
Somerset Cricketers 1946-1970Somerset Cricketers 1946-1970 - £16.99
This is the third volume by Stephen Hill and Barry Phillips in a series outlining the lives of each man who has played first-class cricket for Somerset. The first two books were widely praised as hugely informative and very readable accounts of the history of cricket in the county, with engaging detours into social history. Somerset Cricketers 1946–1970 continues in the same vein and is sure to delight anyone with an interest in this fascinating club.
Somerset Cricketers 1919 - 1939Somerset Cricketers 1919 - 1939 - £16.99
Somerset Cricketers 1919 – 1939 continues the authors’ compelling odyssey through the early history of cricket in the county. Having previously introduced readers to the lives of the men who played for Somerset prior to the First World War, Stephen Hill and Barry Phillips now turn their attention to those who made their debut between the wars.
Somerset Cricketers 1882-1914Somerset Cricketers 1882-1914 - £16.99
Researched with forensic attention to detail but written with real warmth and an eye to readability by Stephen Hill with additional research by Barry Phillips, Somerset Cricketers 1882 – 1914 contains richly-illustrated and hugely informative biographies of each of the 227 cricketers who appeared for Somerset before the First World War.
Somerset CCC The Return to GlorySomerset CCC The Return to Glory - £19.99
Alain Lockyer and Richard Walsh follow their successful Somerset The Glory Years with Somerset County Cricket Club The Return to Glory 2001 - 2007. This compelling book is a title that all Somerset fans will want to read and savour because it celebrates the county’s two most recent trophy winning seasons - 2001 and 2005.
Another Somerset CenturyAnother Somerset Century - £12.99
CHARLES WOOD TURNS HIS EVER IDIOSYNCRATIC ATTENTION TO SOMERSET CRICKET IN THE TWENTY FIRST CENTURY. This book is not fodder for the faint-hearted supporter. Here nightmares are revisited, so too the odd scandal. But it’s not all tears, doldrums and tabloids. Far from it. Never has 'The Blackbird' been sung more lustily, or, indeed, emotionally.
Somerset Cricket The Glory YearsSomerset Cricket The Glory Years - £19.99
In 2010 Somerset Cricket Museum acquired a unique archive of images relating to the history of the club between 1973 and 1990 which feature here. Taken by Alain Lockyer with a text by Richard Walsh, this book chronicles the years of the County’s greatest success, including the period known as the Glory Years during which Somerset won five one day trophies in as many seasons.
Web Price: £16.99
19.69 EUR 21.24 USD 27.83 AUD

« Previous | Next »


Copyright© The Halsgrove Group 2004-2019......home | new titles | about us | directors | location | showroom | checkout | privacy | vacancies....Halsgrove® & A Boot Up® are registered trademarks
The Halsgrove Group includes DAA Halsgrove Ltd, Halsgrove Ltd & Halstar Ltd registered in England Nos 4136732, 6029724 & 6472636 at Halsgrove House, Wellington TA21 9PZ.
Imprints: Halsgrove, Halstar, Ryelands, PiXZ Books, Community Histories & Halswood Journals. Follow Halsgrove on facebook or twitter.

Latest pdf e-books

Latest Kindles

Credit Cards